The full list of nominations for the 2019 ANUSA election has been released. This election, there are 94 candidates running for a variety of positions, with all but one executive position, four College Representatives, and four department officers being contested.

The positions that have been elected unopposed are:

General Secretary – Taylor Heslington

College of Engineering & Computer Science Representative – Sophie Burgess

College of Business & Economics Representative – David Harvey and Jye Beardow

Ethnocultural Officer – Aisha Sepita

Indigenous Officer – Maddison Crowe

Women’s Officer – Nupur Apte

Environment Officer – Grace Hill

This year has seen a welcome change to last year’s election, in which the only contested executive position was that of Education Officer. This year Education Officer, Vice-President and President will be contested by three candidates.

The nominations released on Monday 12 show only one candidate nominated for the position of CECS Representative, leaving a vacancy to be filled.

Many of the candidates running this year are those who have previously held positions on ANUSA before. These candidates are:

Lachy Day – President (Currently General Secretary, formerly General Representative)

Madhu Janagaraja – Vice President (Currently Disabilities Officer)

Anabelle Nshuti – Vice President (Currently General Representative)

Taylor Heslington – General Secretary (Currently General Representative)

Henri Vickers – Education Officer (Currently General Representative)

David Harvey – CBE Representative (Currently General Representative)

In contrast to many of the preceding years, no ticket ran candidates in all of the eligible positions. This is likely the result of recent changes to the ticket funding system, which disincentivises ‘full tickets’ as there is now less money awarded to a ticket for every extra candidate.

The full list of candidates are as below: 


Ryan Clough

Lachy Day

Adam Cass

Undergraduate Member on ANU Council:

Benjamin Chesler

Lachy Day

Adam Cass

Vice President:

Madhu Janagaraja

Annabelle Nshuti

Georga Nonnenmacher

General Secretary:

Taylor Heslington


Maddy Wang

Ethan Gardiner

Education Officer:

Kim Stern

Skanda Panditharatne

Henri Vickers

Social Officer:

Sophie Jaggar

Nick Pagonis

Ethnocultural Officer:

Aisha Sepita

Indigenous Officer:

Maddison Crowe

Women’s Officer:

Nupur Apte

Queer* Officer:

Beatrice Ciblis

Amalia Edevane

Leslie Tao

Shivali Trivedi

Aisling Arnould 

Environment Officer:

Grace Hill

General Representatives:

William Fletcher

Nick Carlton

Nick Crowley

Cahill Di Donato

Kate Evans

Aryanne Caminschi

Jason Pover

Ben Theakston

Oscar Kaspi-Crutchett

Ezabell Kong

Ishita Kapoor

Ben Wicks

Annika Rees

Shayan Lahijanian

Eleanor Hickey

Alex Conneely

John Atkinson

Ben Rowley

Louis Gordon

Georgette Mouawad

Sophie Macdonald

Arman Kapila

Jacob Ellis

Charlotte Menagh

Lachie Ballard

Rafe Harrison-Murray

Maxwell Vidler

Hrithik Chaubal-Menon

Tom Garratt

Isaac Ellis

Oliver MacGibbon

Jenson Barker

Lizzy Wheeler

Harry Colquhoun

Avneet Bakshi

Tasha Alderson

Alex Robson 

Michael Brewer

Flynn Schulz 

Adelaide Bragias

Oliva Kerr

Savannah Benson

Ben Yates

Flynn Chamberlain

Sophie Nguyen

Millie Gillard

Vincent Lee

Zoe Ranganathan

Abby Flynn

Sarah Asif Minhas

College of Arts & Social Sciences Representative

Samuel Lee

James Eveille

Ellie Hawthorne

Hamish Wright

College of Asia & the Pacific Representative

Millie Wang

Callum Dargavel

Spencer Cornish

Lincoln Hui

Andre Kwok

College of Engineering & Computer Science Representative

Sophie Burgess

Joint Colleges of Science Representative

Yasmin Potts

Matthew Sheppard 

Sai Campbell

College of Law Representative

Georgina Price

Max Claessens

Tiger Lin

College of Business & Economics Representative

David Harvey

Jye Beardow

NUS Delegates

Wren Somerville

Grace Carter

Lachy Day

Skanda Panditharatne

Taylor Heslington

Aryanne Caminschi

Jason Pover

Nick Pagonis

Eleanor Hickey

Georgette Mouawad

Sophie Macdonald

James Eveille

Hamish Wright

Henri Vickers

Ben Yates

Vincent Lee

Zoe Ranganathan

Abby Flynn

We acknowledge the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land on which Woroni, Woroni Radio and Woroni TV are created, edited, published, printed and distributed. We pay our respects to Elders past and present. We acknowledge that the name Woroni was taken from the Wadi Wadi Nation without permission, and we are striving to do better for future reconciliation.