‘Proud! of our ANUSA’ has launched their ticket today, arguing for a “fun, fierce and focused” ANUSA. 

‘Proud!’ is headed by Ben Wicks, a current ANUSA General Representative. Wicks is running for President and the Undergraduate ANU Council Representative. He is joined by current ANUSA Disabilities Officer Zoe Ranganathan for Vice-President, and current General Representative Ben Yates for General Secretary. The current treasurer of the Ethnocultural department, Stefan Thottunkal, is Proud!’s’ candidate for Treasurer, along with Maddie Chia for Education Officer and Madelene Watson for Social Officer. 

Their platform is focused on a “more collaborative and ambitious social calendar”, as well as “fearless advocacy” in fighting for students’ rights. While ‘Proud! of our ANUSA’ identify themselves as from politically progressive backgrounds, they highlight that they are the only major ticket in this election not affiliated to a National Union of Students faction nor a political party. They are also not contesting any NUS delegate spots, arguing that this ensures they are running for ANU students interests alone. However, both Ranganathan and Yates have connections with the National Labor Students’ NUS faction. Reflecting their commitment to transparency, ‘Proud! of our ANUSA’ promises  they will be disclosing all political affiliations on their website following its launch. They argue that, in contrast to other tickets, they “have nothing to hide”. 

They join a crowded field, bringing the total to nine tickets (so far) running in this year’s ANUSA elections. 

‘Proud! of our ANUSA’s’ candidates are as follows: 


President: Ben Wicks 

Vice-President: Zoe Ranganathan

General Secretary: Ben Yates

Treasurer: Stefan Thottunkal 

Education Officer: Maddie Chia

Social Officer: Madelene Watson

General Representatives:
Noa Amiry
Coby Howell
Cat Yeong
Lachlan Kaye
Grace King
Isha Singhal
Casper Wallen

College of Business and Economics Representative
Riley Smithers

Joint Colleges of Science Representative
Su-En Hia

College of Arts and Social Sciences Representative
Yasmin Kirk

College of Engineering and Computer Science Representative
Swatantra Roy

We acknowledge the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land on which Woroni, Woroni Radio and Woroni TV are created, edited, published, printed and distributed. We pay our respects to Elders past and present. We acknowledge that the name Woroni was taken from the Wadi Wadi Nation without permission, and we are striving to do better for future reconciliation.