“Electrify for ANUSA” has announced their ticket for the upcoming ANUSA elections, punctuated by the slogan “More Parties, Less Bullshit.” The group will be running on a platform centred around developing the social climate in and around ANU. 

The principal objective of “Electrify” is to “focus on issues that students actually care about,” primarily by increasing the frequency and accessibility of social events to students. More specifically, “Electrify” has stated that they will look to deliver “more accessible and affordable live music” as well as “better and more engaging social events, more often.” 

In the aim of “creating a vibrant campus culture that bridges gaps between… on campus, domestic or international (students),” Nick Pagonis, ticket convenor, commented that he plans “to engage international students in the planning of events to make them more culturally relevant.”

When asked about the “unconventional” nature of the ticket, Pagonis outlined that “students are disengaged with conventional tickets”, and that “Electrify” plan to “run a campaign that doesn’t take itself too seriously.” Despite appearing nonchalant, “Electrify” highlighted that it still intends to “excite students in a process they still care about.”

“Electrify” is only looking to contest one executive position, with Nick Pagonis running for Social Officer. In addition, “Electrify” will also be running 10 General Representative candidates as well as two candidates for the College of Arts and Social Sciences and one for the College of Asia and the Pacific. Lastly, the group will contest all five delegate positions for the National Union of Students.

With “Electrify’s” announcement, the number of election tickets grows to three, with more to come.

The entire list of “Electrify” candidates are as follows:

Social Officer: Nick Pagonis

General Representative: Alex Conneely

General Representative: Annika Rees

General Representative: Armaan Kapila

General Representative: Ben Rowley

General Representative: Eleanor Hickey

General Representative: Georgette Mouawad

General Representative: John Atkinson

General Representative: Louis Gordon

General Representative: Shayan Lahijanian

General Representative: Sophie Macdonald

College of Arts and Social Sciences Representative: Ellie Hawthorne

College of Arts and Social Sciences Representative: James Eveille

College of Asia and the Pacific: Spencer Cornish

NUS Delegate: Nick Pagonis

NUS Delegate: Sophie Macdonald

NUS Delegate: Georgette Mouawad

NUS Delegate: Eleanor Hickey

NUS Delegate: James Eveille

Grace Sixsmith made no contribution to the publishing of this article

We acknowledge the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land on which Woroni, Woroni Radio and Woroni TV are created, edited, published, printed and distributed. We pay our respects to Elders past and present. We acknowledge that the name Woroni was taken from the Wadi Wadi Nation without permission, and we are striving to do better for future reconciliation.