With voting for next year’s ANUSA positions having closed at 4pm today, the election results have now been released.

Due to a number of positions being elected unopposed, including all but one of the executive roles, students voted to decide who will occupy the positions of Education Officer, NUS Delegates, General Representatives, and College of Asia and the Pacific Representatives.

Tanika Sibal was elected as Education Officer, on their Refresh ticket.

Brandon Tan, Henri Vickers, Jade Lin, Ailsa Schreurs, Anabelle Nshuti, Christopher Atkins, Peter Sun, Jocelyn Abbott, Isabella Keith, Taylor Heslington, Harsh Thakkar, David Harvey, Madeleine Lezon, and Yasmin Poole were all elected as General Representatives.

ANU is able to send 5 delegates to the National Union of Students National Conference. The delegates elected were Niall Cummins from Ignite, Ashish Nagesh from Reform, and Lachy Day, Tanika Sibal and Croft Sun from Refresh.

Kai Clark and Alison Wong were elected as College of Asia and the Pacific Representatives.

Voter turnout in this year’s elections is well below the numbers of past years. 1688 (9.32%) students submitted an electronic ballot, down from the record high turnout of 2651 (18.84%) submitted last year and the 2190 (21.92%) witnessed in 2016.

We acknowledge the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land on which Woroni, Woroni Radio and Woroni TV are created, edited, published, printed and distributed. We pay our respects to Elders past and present. We acknowledge that the name Woroni was taken from the Wadi Wadi Nation without permission, and we are striving to do better for future reconciliation.